GU Energy Roctane Energy Gel

20 g carbs per 1 packet (32 g) · 35 mg caffeine. Graded for five standard jobs below — the same product fits some jobs and not others.

35 mg caffeinevegangluten-freebatch-tested (informed-choice)
Check it for your own job →

Job fit

Roctane Energy Gel is a middling fit across the standard jobs — the reasons under each grade say why.

Marathon
3.5 h · race · target 80 g/h → 4/h
C
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly≈ 4/h · a lot to carry running✗ 35 mg each · 490 mg over 3.5 h, above 6 mg/kgℹ 67 % of your sodiumℹ ~200 ml water per gel
70.3
5.5 h · race · target 90 g/h → 4.5/h
C
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly≈ 4.5/h · a lot to carry✗ 35 mg each · 866 mg over 5.5 h, above 6 mg/kgℹ 75 % of your sodiumℹ ~200 ml water per gel
IRONMAN
12 h · race · target 90 g/h → 4.5/h
C
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly≈ 4.5/h · a lot to carry✗ 35 mg each · 1890 mg over 12 h, above 6 mg/kgℹ 75 % of your sodiumℹ ~200 ml water per gel
Century / gran fondo
5 h · steady · target 80 g/h → 4/h
C
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly✓ 4/h · easy to carry✗ 35 mg each · 700 mg over 5 h, above 6 mg/kgℹ 67 % of your sodiumℹ ~200 ml water per gel
Ultra
10 h · steady · target 80 g/h → 4/h
C
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly≈ 4/h · a lot to carry running✗ 35 mg each · 1400 mg over 10 h, above 6 mg/kgℹ 67 % of your sodiumℹ ~200 ml water per gel

Grades: A–E from absorption (35 %), gut (30 %), practicality (15 %), caffeine (10 %) and your preferences (10 %); a ✗ on absorption or gut caps at C. Sodium and tonicity are shown as ℹ and never change the grade.

What is in it

Label facts, not a score. Apply your own preferences in the checker.

Format
Gel
Unit
1 packet (32 g)
Carbohydrate
20 g
Carb sources (label order)
maltodextrin, fructose
Glucose:fructose
not declared (label order is not a proportion)
Sodium
125 mg
Potassium
not stated
Caffeine
35 mg (varies: 0, 35 or 70 mg by flavour (most 35 · Cold Brew Coffee 70 · Pineapple / Strawberry Kiwi / Lemonade 0))
Protein / fat / fibre
not stated / not stated / not stated
Sugar alcohols
none listed
Sweeteners
none listed
Allergens
not stated
Vegan / gluten-free
vegan / gluten-free
Batch-tested
informed choice
Tonicity
hypertonic

100 kcal; 19–21 g carbohydrate and 125–180 mg sodium by flavour (tool uses 20 g / 125 mg). 1,425 mg amino acids. Vegan, gluten-free, kosher.

From the manufacturer's page, checked 2026-09-18 · source. Labels change; read the pack. Not medical advice; not affiliated with the brand.

How many GU Energy Roctane Energy Gel per hour do I need?

At 20 g carbs per 1 packet (32 g): about 3 per hour for 60 g/h and 4.5 per hour for 90 g/h. Use the fuel checker to set your own job.

Is GU Energy Roctane Energy Gel dual-source (glucose and fructose)?

The label lists maltodextrin, fructose and no ratio is declared, so the checker treats it as "ratio not declared" (≈) above 60 g/h — never as a fail.

Does GU Energy Roctane Energy Gel contain caffeine?

Yes, 35 mg per 1 packet (32 g). Variants: 0, 35 or 70 mg by flavour (most 35 · Cold Brew Coffee 70 · Pineapple / Strawberry Kiwi / Lemonade 0). Keep the day's total inside 3–6 mg per kg of body mass and under about 400 mg.

Other gels