GU Energy Original Energy Gel

22 g carbs per 1 packet (32 g) · 20 mg caffeine. Graded for five standard jobs below — the same product fits some jobs and not others.

20 mg caffeinevegangluten-freebatch-tested (informed-choice)
Check it for your own job →

Job fit

Original Energy Gel works when the job is Century / gran fondo.

Marathon
3.5 h · race · target 80 g/h → 3.6/h
C
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly≈ 3.6/h · a lot to carry running≈ 20 mg each · 1–2 doses, not hourlyℹ 29 % of your sodium · add saltℹ ~200 ml water per gel
70.3
5.5 h · race · target 90 g/h → 4.1/h
C
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly≈ 4.1/h · a lot to carry✗ 20 mg each · 450 mg over 5.5 h, above 6 mg/kgℹ 33 % of your sodium · add saltℹ ~200 ml water per gel
IRONMAN
12 h · race · target 90 g/h → 4.1/h
C
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly≈ 4.1/h · a lot to carry✗ 20 mg each · 982 mg over 12 h, above 6 mg/kgℹ 33 % of your sodium · add saltℹ ~200 ml water per gel
Century / gran fondo
5 h · steady · target 80 g/h → 3.6/h
B
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly✓ 3.6/h · easy to carry≈ 20 mg each · 1–2 doses, not hourlyℹ 29 % of your sodium · add saltℹ ~200 ml water per gel
Ultra
10 h · steady · target 80 g/h → 3.6/h
C
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly≈ 3.6/h · a lot to carry running✗ 20 mg each · 727 mg over 10 h, above 6 mg/kgℹ 29 % of your sodium · add saltℹ ~200 ml water per gel

Grades: A–E from absorption (35 %), gut (30 %), practicality (15 %), caffeine (10 %) and your preferences (10 %); a ✗ on absorption or gut caps at C. Sodium and tonicity are shown as ℹ and never change the grade.

What is in it

Label facts, not a score. Apply your own preferences in the checker.

Format
Gel
Unit
1 packet (32 g)
Carbohydrate
22 g
Carb sources (label order)
maltodextrin, fructose
Glucose:fructose
not declared (label order is not a proportion)
Sodium
60 mg
Potassium
not stated
Caffeine
20 mg (varies: 0, 20 or 40 mg by flavour (e.g. Strawberry Banana 0 · Vanilla Bean 20 · Espresso Love 40))
Protein / fat / fibre
not stated / not stated / not stated
Sugar alcohols
none listed
Sweeteners
none listed
Allergens
not stated
Vegan / gluten-free
vegan / gluten-free
Batch-tested
informed choice
Tonicity
hypertonic

100 kcal; the maker states 21–23 g carbohydrate and 60–125 mg sodium depending on flavour (the tool uses 22 g / 60 mg — check your flavour). Dual-source (maltodextrin + fructose), ratio not declared. 450 mg amino acids. Vegan, gluten-free, kosher.

From the manufacturer's page, checked 2026-09-18 · source. Labels change; read the pack. Not medical advice; not affiliated with the brand.

How many GU Energy Original Energy Gel per hour do I need?

At 22 g carbs per 1 packet (32 g): about 2.7 per hour for 60 g/h and 4.1 per hour for 90 g/h. Use the fuel checker to set your own job.

Is GU Energy Original Energy Gel dual-source (glucose and fructose)?

The label lists maltodextrin, fructose and no ratio is declared, so the checker treats it as "ratio not declared" (≈) above 60 g/h — never as a fail.

Does GU Energy Original Energy Gel contain caffeine?

Yes, 20 mg per 1 packet (32 g). Variants: 0, 20 or 40 mg by flavour (e.g. Strawberry Banana 0 · Vanilla Bean 20 · Espresso Love 40). Keep the day's total inside 3–6 mg per kg of body mass and under about 400 mg.

Other gels