GU Energy Energy Chews
24 g carbs per 1 serving (8 chews). Graded for five standard jobs below — the same product fits some jobs and not others.
Job fit
Energy Chews works when the job is Marathon, 70.3, IRONMAN, Century / gran fondo, Ultra.
Grades: A–E from absorption (35 %), gut (30 %), practicality (15 %), caffeine (10 %) and your preferences (10 %); a ✗ on absorption or gut caps at C. Sodium and tonicity are shown as ℹ and never change the grade.
What is in it
Label facts, not a score. Apply your own preferences in the checker.
- Format
- Chews
- Unit
- 1 serving (8 chews)
- Carbohydrate
- 24 g
- Carb sources (label order)
- tapioca syrup, cane sugar, maltodextrin
- Glucose:fructose
- not declared (label order is not a proportion)
- Sodium
- 40 mg
- Potassium
- not stated
- Caffeine
- 0 mg (varies: most flavours 0 · Strawberry 20 mg)
- Protein / fat / fibre
- 0 g / 0 g / 0 g
- Sugar alcohols
- none listed
- Sweeteners
- none listed
- Allergens
- not stated
- Vegan / gluten-free
- vegan / gluten-free
- Batch-tested
- informed choice
- Tonicity
- —
100 kcal, 24 g carbohydrate (11 g sugars), 40 mg sodium, 420 mg amino acids per 8-chew serving; two servings per sleeve. Ingredients: tapioca syrup, cane sugar, maltodextrin, water, pectin, citric acid, flavours, sunflower oil, sodium citrate, sea salt, colours, potassium citrate, carnauba wax. Label as reproduced by the retailer.
From a retailer's reproduction of the label, checked 2026-09-18 · source. Labels change; read the pack. Not medical advice; not affiliated with the brand.
How many GU Energy Energy Chews per hour do I need?
At 24 g carbs per 1 serving (8 chews): about 2.5 per hour for 60 g/h and 3.8 per hour for 90 g/h. Use the fuel checker to set your own job.
Is GU Energy Energy Chews dual-source (glucose and fructose)?
The label lists tapioca syrup, cane sugar, maltodextrin and no ratio is declared, so the checker treats it as "ratio not declared" (≈) above 60 g/h — never as a fail.
Does GU Energy Energy Chews contain caffeine?
No, this version is caffeine-free. Variants: most flavours 0 · Strawberry 20 mg.