Clif BLOKS Energy Chews

23 g carbs per 1 serving (3 chews, 30 g). Graded for five standard jobs below — the same product fits some jobs and not others.

caffeine-free
Check it for your own job →

Job fit

BLOKS Energy Chews works when the job is Marathon, 70.3, IRONMAN, Century / gran fondo, Ultra.

Marathon
3.5 h · race · target 80 g/h → 3.5/h
B
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly≈ 3.5/h · a lot to carry running✓ caffeine-freeℹ 23 % of your sodium · add salt
70.3
5.5 h · race · target 90 g/h → 3.9/h
B
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly✓ 3.9/h · easy to carry✓ caffeine-freeℹ 26 % of your sodium · add salt
IRONMAN
12 h · race · target 90 g/h → 3.9/h
B
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly✓ 3.9/h · easy to carry✓ caffeine-freeℹ 26 % of your sodium · add salt
Century / gran fondo
5 h · steady · target 80 g/h → 3.5/h
B
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly✓ 3.5/h · easy to carry✓ caffeine-freeℹ 23 % of your sodium · add salt
Ultra
10 h · steady · target 80 g/h → 3.5/h
B
≈ dual-source · ratio not declared✓ gut-friendly≈ 3.5/h · a lot to carry running✓ caffeine-freeℹ 23 % of your sodium · add salt

Grades: A–E from absorption (35 %), gut (30 %), practicality (15 %), caffeine (10 %) and your preferences (10 %); a ✗ on absorption or gut caps at C. Sodium and tonicity are shown as ℹ and never change the grade.

What is in it

Label facts, not a score. Apply your own preferences in the checker.

Format
Chews
Unit
1 serving (3 chews, 30 g)
Carbohydrate
23 g
Carb sources (label order)
tapioca syrup, cane sugar, maltodextrin
Glucose:fructose
not declared (label order is not a proportion)
Sodium
50 mg
Potassium
not stated
Caffeine
0 mg (varies: Strawberry 0 · Black Cherry ~17 mg per chew (~50 mg per 3) · Orange and Tropical Punch add caffeine — check the pack)
Protein / fat / fibre
0.3 g / 0.1 g / 0.3 g
Sugar alcohols
none listed
Sweeteners
none listed
Allergens
not stated
Vegan / gluten-free
not stated / not stated
Batch-tested
not stated
Tonicity
—

Figures are the Strawberry EU label scaled from 12 chews (378 kcal, 92 g carbohydrate, 46 g sugars, 0.5 g salt, 1.2 g protein, 0.3 g fat, 1.3 g fibre) to a 3-chew serving. Ingredients: tapioca syrup, cane sugar, corn maltodextrin, water, pectin, citric acid, potassium citrate, flavouring, black carrot juice, sunflower oil, sea salt, carnauba wax. Ratio not declared.

From the manufacturer's page, checked 2026-09-18 · source. Labels change; read the pack. Not medical advice; not affiliated with the brand.

How many Clif BLOKS Energy Chews per hour do I need?

At 23 g carbs per 1 serving (3 chews, 30 g): about 2.6 per hour for 60 g/h and 3.9 per hour for 90 g/h. Use the fuel checker to set your own job.

Is Clif BLOKS Energy Chews dual-source (glucose and fructose)?

The label lists tapioca syrup, cane sugar, maltodextrin and no ratio is declared, so the checker treats it as "ratio not declared" (≈) above 60 g/h — never as a fail.

Does Clif BLOKS Energy Chews contain caffeine?

No, this version is caffeine-free. Variants: Strawberry 0 · Black Cherry ~17 mg per chew (~50 mg per 3) · Orange and Tropical Punch add caffeine — check the pack.

Other chewss