Clif Clif Bar · Chocolate Chip
38 g carbs per 1 bar (68 g). Graded for five standard jobs below — the same product fits some jobs and not others.
Check it for your own job →Job fit
It falls short for Marathon — see the reasons under each grade.
Grades: A–E from absorption (35 %), gut (30 %), practicality (15 %), caffeine (10 %) and your preferences (10 %); a ✗ on absorption or gut caps at C. Sodium and tonicity are shown as ℹ and never change the grade.
What is in it
Label facts, not a score. Apply your own preferences in the checker.
- Format
- Bar
- Unit
- 1 bar (68 g)
- Carbohydrate
- 38 g
- Carb sources (label order)
- oats, brown rice syrup, tapioca syrup, cane syrup
- Glucose:fructose
- not declared (label order is not a proportion)
- Sodium
- 124 mg
- Potassium
- not stated
- Caffeine
- not stated
- Protein / fat / fibre
- 10 g / 6.1 g / 5.4 g
- Sugar alcohols
- none listed
- Sweeteners
- none listed
- Allergens
- contains oats, soya, barley; may contain peanuts, nuts, milk, sesame, rye, wheat
- Vegan / gluten-free
- not stated / contains gluten
- Batch-tested
- not stated
- Tonicity
- —
258 kcal, 38 g carbohydrate (18 g sugars), 5.4 g fibre, 10 g protein, 6.1 g fat, 0.31 g salt (≈124 mg sodium) per 68 g bar — EU label. A meal-ish bar: fine on an easy day, slow at race pace.
From the manufacturer's page, checked 2026-09-18 · source. Labels change; read the pack. Not medical advice; not affiliated with the brand.
How many Clif Clif Bar · Chocolate Chip per hour do I need?
At 38 g carbs per 1 bar (68 g): about 1.6 per hour for 60 g/h and 2.4 per hour for 90 g/h. Use the fuel checker to set your own job.
Is Clif Clif Bar · Chocolate Chip dual-source (glucose and fructose)?
The label lists oats, brown rice syrup, tapioca syrup, cane syrup and no ratio is declared, so the checker treats it as "ratio not declared" (≈) above 60 g/h — never as a fail.
Does Clif Clif Bar · Chocolate Chip contain caffeine?
Caffeine is not stated on the source we checked — read the pack.